Monday’s Music

It’s one of my favorite holiday songs, but some lines in “Baby It’s Cold Outside” do bother me when applied to modern dating culture. When I read the history of the song, and that it was created by a husband and wife, it only made me like it more. In its original context, it’s adorable, with different connotations than we apply to it today. I think even as much as I love it, it’s important to talk about it with younger listeners who many not understand the differences between the time periods.

This version reminds me of Indy and me in high school. He’d come over, stay super late and have to leave just to come back in the morning to pick me up for school. I’d always cajole him into staying for just a few more minutes.

Leave a Reply

