Things I Love Thursday

I votedToday I love the fire in my belly.

I love that instead of feeling hopeless, I feel ready to keep fighting. Instead of feeling sick of politics, I’m already looking at midterms. I think I didn’t need the time to grieve because even though I had hoped with all my heart that I’d be wrong, I knew this was coming. I’ve known it since every letter, every phone call, every moment I’ve worked for growth in my own state landed on deaf ears during the last two years. I think I did all my grieving when the Stand Your Ground laws passed.

I love that I have the ability to be a safe space for the many people who DO feel scared, who are threatened right now and could use all the support they can get. I love that I’m a part of a community working to help keep people safe and to help not only preserve the strides we’ve made but keep moving forward even in this sludge.

I love my country.

Leave a Reply

