Things I Love Thursday

This time last year, we were on a mini vacation in Indianapolis. I'm hoping we can hit the road again sometime soon for another adventure!
This time last year, we were on a mini vacation in Indianapolis. I’m hoping we can hit the road again sometime soon for another adventure!

To avoid sharing my sour mood and violating the orders of Electric Light Orchestra, I’ll spare you the downs of the week and focus on things I’m just enjoying right now. Here are a few of them.

The library. I am always grateful for my palace of books and DVDs! Wood Sprite and I read six books together today and I’ve been catching up on comics in the bathroom here and there.

Goofing off with Wood Sprite. My monthly challenge for July was to “Connect Daily,” and I meant for it to apply to both Indy and Wood Sprite. While I’ve made sure to connect with both of them each day, we still feel pretty disconnected. As a homeschooling family who feels like this, I can only imagine what it’s like to just see each other for a couple of hours each evening, which is what a lot of families get.

Crossing off bucket list items. We went to our first (rock) concert as a family when friends gave us free tickets over the weekend and had SUCH a good time. Another intention for the year was to publish two Changeling books by the end of 2016 and I’ve got three on the schedule.

A full fridge. We used to hate on Aldi, which seemed like a nasty store when we were kids, but these days it’s the perfect place to stock up without spending an arm and a leg.

My washer and dryer. So what if the laundry is piled to the ceiling while I work long hours? Did you know that only 2 billion people in the world have access to washing machines? It makes you feel pretty grateful when you realize you’re in the top percentage of that bunch. Of the 5 billion people washing their clothing by hand every day, how many do you think would love to have all that time freed up with a machine that does it for them?

What are you loving this week?

Leave a Reply

