Monday’s Music

Remember when we had fish? I'd love to stare at some fish right now. The cats ate too many of them for me to justify buying more...
Remember when we had fish? I’d love to stare at some fish right now. The cats ate too many of them for me to justify buying more…

This has been one of those Mondays that makes you feel as if you’re tied to a bunch of horses and some sadist is standing above you with a wide grin and a thin whip.

Last night, I woke up sobbing, lamenting about what a bad mother and wife I am because I worked all weekend and Wood Sprite is growing up so fast. I thought about people I’ve lost and how I want to spend every minute with my family, then had nightmares about working in the food industry and woke up again, puking. I’m sick, dehydrated and menstruating, which is always fun. I’ve had pieces I wrote over the weekend rejected for minor issues. (Nope, those won’t be paid at all.) I have an old client asking if I want to write for them again, which I feel pretty ambivalent about. Large bills are creeping in the mailbox like obnoxious spiders, Wood Sprite needs my help to get all of her 4-H materials together for judging in two days, I have a dozen deadlines in the next two weeks…

And after working all weekend, I could totally use a breather. I normally don’t post about bad stuff and condemn whining in all circumstances, but after getting so sick of everybody’s falsely cheerful Facebook posts (and leaving Facebook again) I decided to refrain from mincing my words today.

Although I did search for the perfect sick day song to simulate a sick day I just can’t take, I’ve decided that most songs about being sick are actually about being horny, so that’s not what I need. Today’s song has to be a Bangles one, then.

I hope your Monday is turning out to be better than mine!

Leave a Reply

