Book Tunes Friday

My absolute favorite YA book blog, Down the Rabbit Hole, is hosting a weekly meme called Book Tunes. Taking place on every Friday, it will allow readers to connect their current reading material with a song they believe represents that literature. I can’t promise that I’ll join in every week, but I wanted to add this entry because I can’t get the link out of my head. Of course, it’s regarding The Hunger Games.

The song I’ve chosen is Nick Cave’s “O Children,” which you’ve probably already heard. It was used for that somber but sweet dance scene in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1, and I won’t deny that it worked well there. To me, however, it feels more like Haymitch’s theme. (Hunger Games spoilers ahead; though I suppose this really applies more toward Catching Fire.) With lyrics like:

Pass me that lovely little gun
My dear, my darling one
The cleaners are coming, one by one
You don’t even want to let them start              

They are knocking now upon your door
They measure the room, they know the score
They’re mopping up the butcher’s floor
Of your broken little hearts

I cannot help but think of the Capitol not only taking the tributes, but demanding more from the victors and taking what they love when they refuse. Other lyrics in the song, such as “Lost among our winnings” and “The cleaners have done their job on you… They’ve hosed you down, you’re good as new,” also ring so strongly of the trilogy and what it means to be in the Games. This stanza also reminds me of Haymitch and his fellow victors:

Here comes Frank and poor old Jim
They’re gathering round with all my friends
We’re older now, the light is dim
And you are only just beginning

Poor old Jim’s white as a ghost
He’s found the answer that we lost
We’re all weeping now, weeping because
There ain’t nothing we can do to protect you

And, of course, the haunting “O Children” refrain makes me think of all of those lives lost as “tribute” to the Capital.

You can listen to the whole song below:

4 thoughts on “Book Tunes Friday”

  1. Thanks so much for participating in this feature (and for saying you like my blog–it made me blush).

    So I believe I remember this song from Harry Potter but I love it for The Hunger Games too. I think your reasoning behind it works really well. This is like Haymitch’s theme song. I’m going to have to download this son. I love it!

    1. Thanks for hosting such a fun meme!

      I love this song, too. So haunting but so beautiful; I think it really does fit Haymitch.

  2. I’m still reading Hunger Games and I think this song accentuates the feeling of the characters were going through. I also joined the new meme and I try to keep it as weekly as possible too.

    1. I agree! Just wait until you find out more about Haymitch in book 2, and his experience as a mentor… But you are right, I think it could apply to any tribute.

Leave a Reply

